$500 School Grant for High Performing Science Students

Marian Catholic College in Griffith was the proud recipient of the 2018 Rowe Scientific School Grant

Australian scientific equipment supplier Rowe Scientific Pty. Ltd. has committed significant financial support to the Australian Science Teachers Association and each state Science Teachers Association from 2016-2020. The STANSW Young Scientist Awards is benefiting by receiving $10,000 annually, for which $500 is going directly into a school grant that goes directly to one or more of their high performing science students. rowe_logo (1)

In 2019, the $500 grant will go towards secondary science students in a school that is either rural, remote, have a high percentage of students from low socioeconomic backgrounds or have a high portion of indigenous students. Schools who satisfy one or more of these criteria are eligible for this $500 grant. For instance, you may plan to use the money to award the top students in your school Science Fair that you hold in conjunction with National Science Week or you might run a School Science Challenge and this money will go to the top three placegetters. Please note – the money must go directly towards students and not for school resources. The winning school must send a photograph of the winning students and a short report detailing how the money was spent. We also encourage applying schools to show how they are planning to enter students projects into the 2019 STANSW Young Scientist Awards.

Schools are now invited to fill out an application form to register for this $500 grant. The due date for this application is Friday 31st May 2019. The Young Scientist Committee will be selecting the grant-winning school, based on the merit of these applications and their applicability to the four specified criteria using their school postcode and information provided by schools to ACARA, published on the My School website.

The winning school will be informed and the money released in Week 7 Term 2 and this school will then be able to distribute this $500 to selected high performing Year 7-12 science students.